Banking on Luck; No Funds Available

I’m not sure how the world works. I have ideas about it. Some are based on religion. Some are based on gut-instinct. But to sum it up, I think that what you do comes back to you, whatever it is.

I’m not sure how good I’ve been. In fact, I think I’ve been living as if I wasn’t going to need any good karma. Maybe I’m too hard on myself. Maybe not. The point is, now there is something I want. And I haven’t wanted anything like this in a long time. But I’m pretty sure my karma bank is empty. And if I had the power to direct my luck anywhere, I’d point it at my career. I made a little bargain with God, that I’m not sure if he agreed to because I probably don’t listen very well, but I said that I’d be willing to forgo love, forever, if I could be really good and successful at entertainment. Not everybody is meant to have everything, so at least I’ll be successful. Love doesn’t ever seem to work out.

But, another thing I believe in is the power of jinx. It’s ridiculous because it’s believing in superstition. But I’ve always had this gnawing in the back of my mind that if I get too excited about something, it won’t happen. I’ve always prepared myself for the worst so that when the worst happens, I’m not surprised. And when the worst doesn’t happen, my joy is doubled with relief. It’s no way to live, I’m aware. But, it’s also not like I’m Harry Burns reading the last page of a book so that if I die before I finish the book I’ll know how it ends.

But it’s just this little…”why should I get to be happy?” And without one drop of “woe is me”, and a finger pointing at my divorce, I feel like my superstitions have been fulfilled, so I’m only strengthened in my completely unfounded belief that what I’ve done up to this point isn’t enough for me to deserve something good, and it’s a much wiser path to expect happiness from success, from something I have a little bit of control in, than in love, which is left up to some power far beyond my understanding.

Everyone else seems to be able to do it so easily.

Why can’t I?

2 thoughts on “Banking on Luck; No Funds Available

  1. I believe happiness is a choice. When I want to feel love I act in loving ways, think loving thoughts and feel love for the person in front of me. I have found the best way to be open to receiving love is to be giving of love. I hear your sadness, your frustration and your loneliness and send you a virtual hug. You are worthy of love because you have a heart that beats, started by your mothers heart when you were just 22 day old before your brain was even formed.
    That seems like a hard bargain you made with God, he did not ask that of you, you suggested it to him.
    I believe you can have love, success and contentment just by believing, visualizing and accepting love when it comes your way. Sending you love, hope strength and abundance. :~) xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply. You may be critical, you may praise, you may question, you may counter. You may not be cruel.

