The First Interview

I feel good. I feel very good. I’m not sure that the interview will definitively lead to a position with the company I was interviewing with. But, I think I presented myself in the most positive light I could. I was confident and I know I impressed the woman interviewing me. Unfortunately, she works for a staffing agency and can only pass along my resume with notes. I’ve got two more interviews next week: one on Monday and one on Tuesday. So many things are changing and I am very excited about where my life is going, even though I don’t really know what that direction is.

Where am I going?

I have changed so much since the last time I moved to Southern California. Then, every single box was checked. I knew I had more than enough money to make it for a few months should something drastic happen. I had a job. I had someone helping me pay the rent. I had few extra bills I had to pay. I was prepared.

I was a nervous wreck.

This time, I’m not one bit nervous. I’ve proven myself more than once as someone who can leave her comfortable surroundings and drop right in the middle of something unknown. I’m not prepared. I don’t have a job. I don’t really have enough money to make it. But, I have faith in a lot of things, not just myself, but that God is going to give me what I need because He has done so time and time again.

As for the interviews, I’ve been instructed to dress professionally and bring my resume: two things I would do anyway. For the first interview, I’ve also been given six links to clients and it was suggested that I look at them. LOOK? I will be memorizing these products, because I want to be the most prepared applicant they’ve had. Now as for professional clothing, I think I’ll have to wear the same outfit to both interviews, which I will now deem my interview outfit. If, nay…when I get a professional job, I will have to re-open my Macy’s account to buy a few new outfits because my good clothing is locked away in a storage facility in Garden Grove with all my beautiful furniture.

I sometimes feel like I shouldn’t feel this happy after the week I’ve had. But, I can’t help it. I’ve felt sad for so long and now that it’s gone, I feel like Charlie when he drinks the Fizzy Lifting drink…but let’s not take that metaphor too far or too seriously. And I do feel guilty that I feel good, but there it is, I’ve admitted it. I don’t want to go back to feeling sad and being depressed. I’m positive that nothing and no one is served by walking around the earth moping.

I choose to be happy. If I could, I choose to be gainfully employed, but I’ll just have to work with what I can control.

5 thoughts on “The First Interview

  1. Best of luck to you. I work in HR, so I know how nerve wracking it can be–just from watching applicants. 😉 Have no fear though…on the other side of the desk, we all understand.

  2. You are an inspiration. Hearing how you’ve found strength through this difficult time is good news, and something to be proud of – not something to feel guilty about. Your life is moving forward and reminds me that I don’t need to have pinterest pitty parties to feel better. Instead, I need to make my situation better by moving past the weight that’s wearing me down.

    • But the pinterest pity parties really get so much accomplished. The moving on is a well-practiced trait…letting go is difficult, but carrying it around everyday…all the time….unhealthy, impossible. Sometimes it’s as simple as smiling and hoping.

Leave a Reply. You may be critical, you may praise, you may question, you may counter. You may not be cruel.

